Shibli the miser

786

gold-dinaars-2

Sheikh Shibli Rahmatullah alaihi says:

Once a voice whispered in my heart, ‘Shibli, you are a miser’

My proud self said, ‘I am not a miser.’

But the voice insisted, ‘No, you are a miser.’

I decided to make a trial of myself and said, addressing my own self, ‘In order to prove that I am not a miser, I shall give away any amount that I happen to receive, however large to the first poor man that I come across after receiving the money.’

As soon as I had made up my mind, a man came and offered me a gift of 50 Dinaars, which I took and went looking for some poor, needy person, as I had promised myself. I soon came upon a blind ragged man getting a haircut at a barber’s shop.

gold-dinaars-3

I put the Dinaars into the blind man’s lap, who said, ‘Give the money to the barber as his wages for cutting my hair.’

I said, ‘These are fifty Dinaars.’ (too large an amount to be given as wages for a haircut).

At this, the blind man turned to me and said, ‘Didn’t we say that you’re a miser?’

I hurriedly handed the barber the money, who declined to accept, saying, ‘Excuse me, when this man came to me, I decided no to take anything from him as wages, due to his extreme poverty.’

I felt so ashamed that I threw the bag of money into the river, saying, ‘Curse you, you filthy wealth! Allah Ta’ala humiliates him who has any regard for you, just as he has humiliated me.’

dinaars

One thought on “Shibli the miser

Leave a Reply

