Moruga Gyal – Hot for so

786

 

moruga-gyal

I recently started using lime and water on mornings for my sinus. And I had all these limes. It was such a shame to throw them away. So I decided that  would make what we call in Trinidad and Tobago, pepper sauce.

I even made my own label. Since I live in the Moruga area, I decided to call myself ‘Moruga Gyal” and I was making pickles with hot peppers so its “Hot for so” It was a fun thing and I love it.

p1000470

I bought some peppers like these from a vegetable stall close to where I live – Trinidad Moruga Scorpion Pepper

The Trinidad Moruga Scorpion (Capsicum chinense) is native to the district of Moruga in Trinidad and Tobago. On February 13, 2012, New Mexico State University’s Chile Pepper Institute identified the Trinidad moruga scorpion as the hottest chili in the world, with a mean heat of more than 1.2 million Scoville heat units (SHUs) and individual plants with a heat of more than 2 million SHUs.

p1000465

 

And I used caraili, onions and garlic.

p1000475

And of course limes

 

p1000429

So this is my concoction. Everything cut into pieces and filled with white vinegar.

 

p1000434       p1000257

 

p1000255                       p1000432

 

I plan to experiment with a few more pickles…….

Leave a Reply

