Garlic turning blue

786

I was going to make a type of pickle. I had some time and peeled garlic and put them in vinegar.

I was in shock, they started turning blue……………..and smelled so strong

p1000649

 

However, I researched and discovered that garlic turns blue in vinegar due to the sulfur compounds reacting with minute traces of copper in the vinegar. This reaction forms copper sulphate and most importantly to me the garlic is still safe to eat.

I also discovered that there is a Chinese festival where they produce laba garlic where they actually make the garlic blue.

So the picture (not mines) below is Laba garlic, blue garlic. I might actually pickle some garlic just for the fun of it….

laba-garlic

Leave a Reply

