The choice to wear the hijab

786
    A few days ago, I was speaking to a convert about wearing the hijab. She was confused about the different kinds that people wear.
     I found the following graphic showing different kinds.

     What I was trying to emphasize to her was that it was a command given and can be found in the Holy Qur’an itself:

“O Prophet! Tell your wives and daughters and the believing women that they should caste their outer garments over their persons (in abroad). That is most convenient, that they should be known and not molested. And Allah is Oft-Forgiving, Most Merciful.” [Qur’an, 33:59].

” And say to the believing women that they should lower their gaze and guard their modesty; that they should not display their beauty and their ornaments except what appear thereof; that they should draw their veils over their bosoms and not display their beauty…” [Qur’an 24:31].

     So as long as the requirements of the Holy Qur’an are fulfilled, it does not matter as to the style or fashion. In fact, a woman can create her own style to suit herself as long as the requirements are fulfilled.

     I told her that the decision was ultimately hers to follow the commandments given in the Holy Qur’an and the hardest thing to do was to start. The hardest thing is to start, because to put on a hijab or anything associated with it is a declaration that a woman is a Muslim.

     I can still remember in 1984, when I was 16 years old there were very, very few young girls in my country wearing the hijab. There were quite a few old women wearing it but not young girls. Even my mother did not wear the hijab. I started wearing it and felt as if I was goldfish in a bowl being stared at, by everyone.

     Many negative comments were made by other Muslim girls who didn’t want to wear hijabs. Many said it was not compulsory. I can still recall how many said that I would get tired of it and remove it in few years.

    Now 33 years later, Alhamdulillah, I am still wearing my hijab and many of those that commented are now wearing hijab. Sometimes, however, my job may still send me to a conference where I’m the only person wearing a hijab. I’ve gotten accustomed to the fact that many persons know my name due to that rarity.

    It took me years to be so comfortable with my hijab that it is now a part of my wardrobe such that I would feel naked without it.

    But the most difficult part of the entire situation was to start.

 

Leave a Reply

